The Mason-Dixon Schools for the Deaf Athletic Association

The South Carolina School for the Deaf and Blind in Spartanburg hosted the 1st Annual Girls Mason-Dixon Basketball Tournament on February 3rd and 4th, 1978. The participating schools were Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina and South Carolina. These schools became the charter members of the Girls Mason-Dixon Schools for the Deaf Athletic Association. South Carolina won the event while Florida took second place, Mississippi placed third and Georgia was fourth.

Since that first tournament, Tennessee, Virginia, Eastern North Carolina and Alabama have brought the total number of teams participating to eleven. Support for the tournament has grown and the number of fans who travel from throughout the southeast to the host school continues to increase. The girls tournament has evolved into an event that is equal in scope and popularity to the boys tournament.

The Mason-Dixon Tournament logo was initially developed in 1985 for the 8th Annual Girls Mason-Dixon Tournament and was subsequently adopted as the symbol to be used for both the boys and girls. The girls can be proud of the contributions they have made to the history of Mason-Dixon athletics.

The Girls' Mason-Dixon Basketball Tournament History

All Tournament Teams
     In the 1970's
     In the 1980's
     In the 1990's
     In the 2000's
     In the 2010's
Most Valuable Players
Free Throw Champs & Three Point Shooting
Sportsmanship Awards
Tournament Champions
Tournament Records
Tournament Results
Team Win/Loss Records
Coaches Win/Loss Records
Distinguished Services Awards

Back to the History Page
[ Schools ] | [ Tournaments ] | [ People ] | [ Contacts ] | [ Home ]
Copyright 2017 MDSDAA